UN Treaty Body Database

There are nine core international human rights treaties, the most recent one -- on enforced disappearance -- entered into force on 23 December 2010. Since the adoption of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights in 1948, all UN Member States have ratified at least one core international human rights treaty, and 80 percent have ratified four or more.

There are currently ten human rights treaty bodies, which are committees of independent experts. Nine of these treaty bodies monitor implementation of the core international human rights treaties while the tenth treaty body, the Subcommittee on Prevention of Torture, established under the Optional Protocol to the Convention against Torture, monitors places of detention in States parties to the Optional Protocol.

The treaty bodies are created in accordance with the provisions of the treaty that they monitor. OHCHR supports the work of treaty bodies and assists them in harmonizing their working methods and reporting requirements through their secretariats.

There are other United Nations bodies and entities involved in the promotion and protection of human rights

- You will find below some useful links related to the TreatyBody database:

- Documents search

- List of sessions

- Ratification, reporting and documentation by countries

- Ratification status by country or by treaty

- Document's master calendar

- Session's master calendar

- Document's calendar

- Session's calendar

- Visits of the optional protocol of the convention against torture

- Follow-up procedure

- List of issues prior to reporting

- Core documents

- Inquiries

- Late Reporting

- Monthly report

- Early Warning Measures and Urgent Actions