Distr.: General 10 April 2025

Original: English

Advance unedited version

Committee against Torture

Decision adopted by the Committee under article 22 of the Convention, concerning communication No. 1157/2022*,**

Submitted by: Y.N. (represented by AsyLex)

Alleged victim: The complainant

State party: Switzerland

Date of communication: 18 November 2022 (initial complaint)

Substantive issues: Deportation to Eritrea; risk of torture

- 1. The communication, dated 18 November 2022, was submitted by Y.N., a national of Eritrea. He claims that by deporting him to Eritrea, the State party would violate his rights under article 3 of the Convention. The complainant is represented by counsels.
- 2. On 22 November 2022, the communication was registered with the request for interim measures granted. The State party was requested to refrain from removing the complainant to Eritrea, while the communication was pending before the Committee.
- 3. On 16 May 2023, the State party submitted its observations on the admissibility and merits of the complaint, which were transmitted to the complainant on 7 July 2023.
- 4. On 7 September 2023, the complainant submitted his comments on the State party's observations.
- 5. On 6 November 2023, the State party submitted additional observations. On 30 January 2024, the State party requested the communication to be discontinued as the complainant was granted asylum status and temporary admission to Switzerland on 25 January 2024.
- 6. On 3 February 2025, the complainant informed that he agrees to discontinue the communication.
- 7. In view of the information that the complainant has been granted temporary admission to Switzerland and the fact that both parties agree to discontinue the communication, the Committee decided at its 82^{nd} session on 10 April 2025, to discontinue consideration of communication 1157/2022.

^{*} Adopted by the Committee at its 82nd session (7 April – 2 May 2025).

^{**} The following members of the Committee participated in the examination of the communication: Todd Buchwald, Jorge Contesse, Claude Heller, Erdogan Iscan, Peter Vedel Kessing, Liu Huawen, Maeda Naoko, Ana Racu, Abderrazak Rouwane and Bakhtiyar Tuzmukhamedov.