Advance unedited version

Distr.: General 10 March 2025

Original: English

Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights

Decision adopted by the Committee under the Optional Protocol to the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights, concerning communication No. 236/2021*', **

Communications submitted by:	M. S. P. et al.
Alleged victims:	The authors
State party:	Portugal
Date of communications:	25 October 2021 (initial submission)
Subject matter:	Eviction of an elderly person and a person with a disability by new owner after mortgage execution of the previous lessor
Substantive issue:	Right to adequate housing
Article of the Covenant:	11 (1)

1. The authors of the communication allege that the State party has violated their rights under article 11 of the Covenant by evicting them without alternative housing.

2. The Committee, acting through its working group on communications, registered the communication and requested the State party to take interim measures to suspend the eviction of the authors pending consideration of the communications or to provide them with adequate alternative housing, in genuine and effective consultation with them.

3. The State party submitted its observations on the communication, which were transmitted to the authors for comments.

4. At its meeting on 14 February 2025, the Committee on the Economic, Social and Cultural Rights taking into account the State party's request for discontinuance because the eviction order against the authors became statute-barred in June 2022 and is no longer enforceable, and they could submit a new communication with a request for interim measures to the Committee should a new eviction order be issued, decided to discontinue the consideration of communication No. 236/2021.

^{*} Adopted by the Committee at its seventy-seventh session (10-28 February 2025).

^{**} The following members of the Committee participated in the examination of the communication: Aslan Abashidze, Lazhari Bouzid, Asraf Ally Caunhye, Laura-Maria Craciunean-Tatu, Charafat El Yedri Afailal, Peters Sunday Omologbe Emuze, Santiago Manuel Fiorio Vaesken, Ludovic Hennebel, Joo-Young Lee, Karla Vanessa Lemus De Vásquez, Seree Nonthasoot, Giuseppe Palmisano, Laura Elisa Pérez, Julieta Rossi, Preeti Saran and Michael Windfuhr.