## Committee against Torture 25<sup>th</sup> Anniversary

## Tuesday 7 May 2013, 15h00 - Palais des Nations - Room XII DRAFT PROGRAMME

15:00 - 15:15	Opening Statement: Ibrahim Salama, Director of the Human Rights Treaties Division
	Welcome address: Claudio Grossman, Chairperson of the Committee
15:15 - 15:20	Panel I on identifying the main achievements and challenges faced by the Committee
	Introduction by moderator: Xuexian Wang, Vice-chairperson of the Committee
15:20 - 15:30	Juan Mendez, Special Rapporteur on Torture
15:30 - 15:40	Martin Bang, Representative of Denmark
15:40 - 15:50	Representative of Senegal (tbc)
15:50 - 16:00	Anna-Karin Holmlund, Amnesty International
16:00 - 16:30	Plenary discussion
16:30 - 16:40	Break
16:40 - 16:45	Panel II on reflecting on State party's obligations with regard to redress for victims of torture, in light of General Comment n. 3 on Article 14
	Introduction by moderator: Felice Gaer, Vice-chairperson of the Committee
16:45 - 16:55	Elizabeth Abi-Mershed, Deputy Executive Secretary of the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights
16:55 - 17:05	Mercedes Doretti, Chairperson of the Board of Trustees of the Voluntary Fund for Victims of Torture
17:05 - 17:15	Cristian Streeter, Permanent Mission of Chile
17:15 - 17:25	Sarah Fulton, Redress
17:25 - 17:55	Plenary discussion
17:55 - 18:00	Closing remarks: Claudio Grossman, Chairperson of the Committee
18:00 - 19:30	Reception: Palais des Nations, 8 <sup>th</sup> floor, Restaurant des délégués – hosted by the Permanent Missions of Chile and Denmark